MEET THE STAFF

 
 

 

Dr. Bill La Barr
Senior Pastor

bill@ppumc.org
 
William Eugene (Bill) La Barr was born in Clovis, New Mexico. He graduated from Bentonville (AR) High School in 1968. A second career minister, Bill followed the call to ministry after an almost 20-year career in retail.
Dr. La Barr was appointed Senior Pastor of Plymouth Park United Methodist Church in June 2005 and has faithfully served the congregation since.
 

Dr. Rusty Hedges
Associate Pastor

rusty@ppumc.org
 
Dr. Rusty Hedges first served as associate pastor at Plymouth Park UMC from 1992 to 1995, then rejoined in August 2014 as a part-time associate for pastoral care after having retired from 35 years of service as an ordained minister in the United Methodist Church.

Mikael Lindström
Director of Music Ministry

mikael@ppumc.org
 
Mikael is the Director of Music Ministries at Plymouth Park United Methodist Church in Irving. He began working in the greater Church at the First Presbyterian Church in Kilgore, TX, in the choir, when he was a freshman in college. As a junior at Southwest Texas State University (now Texas State University-San Marcos), he served as interim choir director at St. Mark’s Episcopal Church in San Marcos. 
 

 Audrua Malvaez
Director of Adult Ministry

audrua@ppumc.org
 
Audrua is a Houston native, where she has served in youth ministry for the last 7 years.
After having grown up in the UMC, she is currently in the process of being a Certified Youth Minister by taking a 5-year course through Perkins School of Theology, SMU.
 

Open
Director of Youth Ministry

churchoffice@ppumc.org
 
 

Cori Bell
Director of Children’s Ministry

cori@ppumc.org
 
Cori Cossaboom Bell has been the Director of Children’s Ministry and Child Care Coordinator at PPUMC since April 2008. She is the daughter of a United Methodist elder and knows well the life of being called into the church service. Being a PK (preacher’s kid) she lived a number of places before the family settled in Dallas where she graduated from Bryan Adams High School.
 

Carol Jones
Business Manager

cjones@ppumc.org

Kathy Bongfeldt
Office Manager

kathy@ppumc.org

Krista Bailey
Worship Leader

kbailey@ppumc.org

Ken Surley
Organist

kensurley@aol.com
 
Ken Surley holds a degree in Organ Performance and Choral Music Education from Baylor University where he studied with Dr. Joyce Jones. His service playing experience ranges from a one-room country church with no electricity to playing for Mass in St. Peter’s Basilica in the Vatican. He has served as Choir Director and/or Organist in Methodist, Lutheran, Catholic, and Baptist churches.